• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Trying to get fired?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

cheapcreative

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)?

New York.

So I work for a company that was just bought out by another company. I was moved to a new department and given new responsibilities that were not part of my original position and are things I have no experience in or know how to do.

I don't want to quit, for obvious reasons. But if I express to my new supervisor that I did not want to move (they basically wiped out my original position) or request to be placed somewhere else, and I get fired, can I apply for unemployment?

I do not want to get stuck in a field I do not want to be in, and I don't want it to hurt the kind of jobs that I get in the future, so I really do not want to stay with the company. However I would like to have some time to get things in order and think about what I will do next, so although I want to leave I want to try and ensure I can get any kind of benefits.

Is there a best way to go about this? Is it at all possible to try and get fired without quitting so one can collect unemployment?

Beth3

But if I express to my new supervisor that I did not want to move (they basically wiped out my original position) or request to be placed somewhere else, and I get fired, can I apply for unemployment? Of course you can apply. Whether you will receive benefits is the question. If your supervisor fires you because you inform him/her that you're not happy with your new situation, that will not prevent you from collecting UC benefits.

Is there a best way to go about this? Not really.