• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Unemployment benefits denied

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

roadster2005

What is the name of your state? MA

I saw your comments on the web site and have a question of my own. I worked for a company for 3.5 years and recently left employment voluntarily. I applied for unemployment and was denied. I worked as a Sales Rep (Route Driver) paid commission weekly full time. I left on Feb 25 2005 after giving 2 weeks notice. The reasons I left were as follows:
1. During late Oct 2004 to early Nov 2004 I was not paid for approximately two weeks of work. After looking into it, I was finally paid in late Jan 2005 approximately 900.00. During the coming weeks there were still problems with my check, and I am still owed for one delivery.
2. During this same period the company was having inventory problems, and sold part of the business to a competitor, and closed the business, rolling it over into a new company. The company moved from its location to 20+ miles away.
3. The Dental insurance was cancelled (because the company couldn't afford it) without notification.
4. The medical insurance was cancelled due to non-payment, then re-established. We were not notified until the insurer sent the notice.
5. The route I did was Boston and the biggest in the company. My earnings went down by over 40% in eight months due to the company losing clients. Most clients were lost to bad pricing or inventory problems. My income on certain weeks was 150.00 down from 800.00 per week. When I left I asked to be transferred to another route to maintain my employment, but it still was under 200.00 per week. I could not survive on this amount.