• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Unemployment benefits elegibility

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

jadelegonzalez

(I'm in Florida)
Hello, I hope someone in this post might be able to elucidate my doubts...
I've been working since May 2011 as an employee with W2, previous to that I was a freelancer (independent contractor) for about 4 yrs. I have now been laid off. My position has been terminated (no fault) as of April 1st 2012 I will no longer be employed. Do I qualify for unemployment according to the BASE PERIOD? I've read all about the four of the past five quarters, but I'm still confused. I have 2 full quarters in 2011, over half of one quarter in 2011 (May and June, but not April!), and Jan, Feb, March in 2012. Does the base period mean I must have been employed for a FULL YEAR (or complete full four/five calendar years?) Would I qualify for unemployment here in FLORIDA having worked 11 months? Thank you!What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)?What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)?

xylene

The worst thing that can happen is that your application is denied.

Apply and be truthful. That is all you can do.

(Why were you a 'contractor' for 4 years.... that is another issue...)

They don't ask you for your wage history .. they have it on computer .. they'll do all this work for you and send you a statement of eligibility.

Yours is a case where you may not qualify; but I would encourage you to file.

cbg

I'm a Northern Girl
If you apply, you may get benefits and you may not.

If you don't apply, you definitely won't.

Sounds like a no-brainer to me.

commentator