• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Unemployment eligibility for separated military member

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Joshua0001

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? California/Wyoming

I am a former resident of California and worked in the state for many years. I am in the military (officer) and currently stationed in Wyoming and am a resident of Wyoming. As my service commitment ends, I would like to move back to California in July, and I would like to start school (graduate degree) in the fall. If I need to, I am able to find temporary work during that time between my separation and starting school.

1. Am I eligible to receive unemployment benefits in California?
2. If so, how long can I receive those benefits?
3. Can I receive any benefits while attending school? I will be using the Post 9/11 GI Bill.

Thanks!

FlyingRon

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)?
Your military time does qualify you for unemployment benefits in California, if you otherwise qualify. Lots of answers to these questions including FAQs on this site http://www.edd.ca.gov/unemployment/
California will go up to 26 weeks.
Currently, with federal extensions, you can get up to 37 additional weeks.
3. Can I receive any benefits while attending school? I will be using the Post 9/11 GI Bill.
Possibly, again that is fully answered on the FAQ pages mentioned above. If your training is for something that there are actually jobs available and done at an approved facility (I suspect if you're going to use your GI Bill similar approval is likely to be in place), you could be able to get some level of benefit.

commentator