• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Unemployment Hearing

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

sjn02169

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Massachusetts

Last week I received my first check from the Massachusetts Department of Unemployment Assistance (DUA). This was after the DUA made two determinations: whether or not I was an employee, and whether or not I left voluntarily. My former employer claimed that I was an independent contractor, and that I quit. In both determinations, the DUA ruled in my favor that I was an employee and that I was terminated for reasons not involving willful misconduct.

This week I received an appeal notice. My former employer is challenging the DUA decision, and a hearing will be scheduled. I called the DUA to find out what is being challenged, and was told that it is the determination of whether or not I quit. If that is the case, can the employer use the hearing to also challenge the employee vs. IC determination, without having raised the issue in advance? I just want to ensure that I am adequately prepared. Thank you.What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)?

commentator

Your employer is appealing one part of a dual issue decision. He's probably pretty much accepted that you are an employee, he was not going to prevail in insisting you were an IC, because those regulations are pretty clearly spelled out, and you either is or is not. Not much to argue there, once the situation is looked at and the state has granted you unemployment status. If you had been determined to be an I.C. you wouldn't have even been able to set up a claim (at least using these wages.)