• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Is voice recording legal?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

StefanieW021

What is the name of your state? CT
My new GM at my restaurant where I am a manager fired one of my shift leaders because he was told she said to someone who had given their notice that "they were lucky to be getting out because things keep getting worse here". His reason on the termination slip was insubordination. He is a 35 year old guy and talked to this 19 year old girl with no witnesses around. After their conversation he twisted everything she said. And because he asked her honest opinion of him and she told him she thinks he doesn't do a lot and sits down a lot, he fired her 90 minutes later. The dicipline matrix for this company states that for this "insubordination" 1st offence-verbal warning, 2nd offence- written, 3rd offence- final warning, and 4th offence- suspention/and or termination. This girl has never been written up for anything, and is wonderful at her job. When he fired her he even told her normally a write up is given, but he is going right to termination. Can she sue? Let me also add he was over heard by a team member(who will sign a statement saying this) saying that when he wants to fire someone he works them up so that he can fire them for something they say to him.
My next question is- he is after me now and has already tried today to get me to yell at him. Is it legal for me to have a digital voice recorder in my pocket?

las365

because he asked her honest opinion of him and she told him she thinks he doesn't do a lot and sits down a lot, he fired her