• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

What to do with unsolicited applications

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

bancroft

Missouri - I am a hiring manager for a non-profit organization and I was recently advised by our Human Resourses Department that it is illegal for them to maintain unsolicited applications and resumes on file. In other words, if a position is not posted and an application comes in, it is disposed of and not kept on hand. I was not told why it is illegal, simply that it had something to do with discriminatory practices. Have you heard of this? Thank you.

S

seniorjudge

bancroft said:
Missouri - I am a hiring manager for a non-profit organization and I was recently advised by our Human Resourses Department that it is illegal for them to maintain unsolicited applications and resumes on file. In other words, if a position is not posted and an application comes in, it is disposed of and not kept on hand. I was not told why it is illegal, simply that it had something to do with discriminatory practices. Have you heard of this? Thank you.
Please have whoever it is in the HRD to cite you a statute that makes keeping unsolicited applications and resumes on file a crime.

cbg

I'm a Northern Girl
I think they are misunderstanding slightly.

My understanding is that it is not illegal, but it is also not required, and doing so can put you in line for some problems with anti-discriminatory practices.