• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Why employer refused to use the word TERMINATION

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

draexo

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? SC

I am a health professional who formerly worked at Wal-Mart (now officially WalMart). I was travelling 27 miles to my job and found something closer. Wal-Mart could not provide me with anything closer, so I gave a two week notice. A few days later I was called on the phone by my district manager and told I was being terminated and my schedule filled. Frankly, I was relieved as I was tired of the 27 mile drive and could use the week between jobs to do some stuff around the house.

One of the things WalMart does is immediately issue you a final paycheck. So I went up to the store to get my few things there and a paycheck. I had to meet with the district manager and sign a form stating I was to return my phone and laptop and that I received a final paycheck. A witness was needed, so one of the department managers came over. She asked what happened. I reminded her how I have given two weeks notice, but apparently, if you give two weeks notice at WalMart and they can not convince you to stay, they terminate you. The district manager became visibly upset and said I was NOT TERMINATED and that I was fully able to be re-hired.