• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Wongful termination or not??

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

INFAMOUS655321

IN TENNESSEE (EMPLOYEE AT WILL STATE)

I was terminated in November for misconduct I applied for unemployment and it was approved the company appealed the approval and it is now being denied so I have appealed the denial. I was terminated for accessing employee files. The handbook states and team member must request in writing to view the file I was an assistant manager I have had access to these files for most of my employment set several of these files up. When I came into work I was given a write up by a subordinate employee and when I talked to the boss I informed him that was uncalled for and I was not signing it I requested a transfer I told him I felt like he was setting me up for termination. We went back an forth and I was told to put put the write up in a "locked" filing cabinet( it can be accessed from cabinet above it) When I put the write up in cabinet I looked at 2 or 3 files that I had set up of employees that had been terminated and my file. Within the week I was fired for misconduct. I honestly believe I was not violating any policy and was in no way trying to disregard any policy or rule. Am I in the wrong? Should I be entitled to the unemployment benefits? Thank You for any help you may be able to give me!!