• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

work situation - being forced to move

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

MrJenkins

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? PA

Hi-

I have been working for a company for 5 years now. With my jobs blessing, I relocated to a different state than our HQ.

We recently had a situation with our software which required an upgrade and now the people who worked from home cannot connect to the server in order to do our work

we have been given the option of (return to the office and work, or find a new job). I am the only one that lives out of state, so it's not a big deal for the others.

I just resigned a lease for a year and have 10 months left.

What are my options? Would I be able to get unemployment if I quit? Should I be fired? Can I request that they provide me with money to break my lease?

I am not sure what I should do to protect myself. I am a good employee with no bad marks on their records.

Thanks

sandyclaus

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? PA

Hi-

I have been working for a company for 5 years now. With my jobs blessing, I relocated to a different state than our HQ.

We recently had a situation with our software which required an upgrade and now the people who worked from home cannot connect to the server in order to do our work

we have been given the option of (return to the office and work, or find a new job). I am the only one that lives out of state, so it's not a big deal for the others.

I just resigned a lease for a year and have 10 months left.

What are my options? Would I be able to get unemployment if I quit? Should I be fired? Can I request that they provide me with money to break my lease?