• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

wrongful discharge??

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

john52

What is the name of your state?ny I have been working at my job for 6 yrs I was injured in a auto accident on aug 30th 2003 in which my upper back and neck was injured severe muscle sprain and 2 bulging disc c5 and c6 on sept 19th 2003 my doctor took me out of work i was out of work until feb 17th 2004.. my company paid 100% of my wages while i was out of work.. when i returned to work there was alot of tension between me and my manager, he gave me a good evaluation not a great one for 2003, our evaluations are done once a year..In may i got wrote up for work performance on a specific assignment i was working on.. on july 23 2004 i got a call from my daughter in mt saying my mother was in the hospital she has had cancer for 5 yrs anyways i arranged time off from work from 7/26-8/04 subject to change depending on how my mother was doin to fly from ny to mt.. I left on july 25th my mother passed away before i got there.. I called the supervisor of who i was instructed by the manager to call if i needed more time ect.. so i called him on july 26 told him my mom passed away, with my company you get 1 week for death of an immediate family member, so with that i asked if i could return to work on the 8th instead using only 1 week vacation.. of which i had 3 weeks left anyways so i get back on the 8th everything seemed normal then on 8/13 i get a call to the managers office, i walk into his office he says they are terminating me for not reporting back to work on the 5th of aug, supposedly the supervisor said i did not call an ask for this extra 2 days time off.. anyways i belong