• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

wrongful termination?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Pmedic

This just occurred in Illinois. I have been a paramedic for a municipality for over 12 years. I have never in those 12 years had any issues but last night the chairman of the committee showed up at my house and gave me a letter of termination due to my weight. There is no weight guide lines at this service there are no standards we have to maintain. I have never had an issue that was directly a result of my weight. The only issue here is the person in charge has been against me since he took over 2 years ago. We are a union shop and my union rep has advised me to seek an attorney on my own as well as we are meeting with the committee Monday. They didn't even have the decency to call me before the committee to discuss this matter. I am just curious as to what they have broken law wise and what there is I can possibly do? This blind sided me. No warning no verbal or written warning nothing. Any advice would greatly be appreciated.

Matthew Bierman EMT-P

Last edited:

AL HR

Weight is not a protected class, therefore your termination was legal with the exception of if they didn't follow the CBA. They have to follow that, but barring any issues there, there is no reason to get an attorney involved. They can terminate you becuase of your weight, height, the color of your eyes, as long as they don't fire you because you are in a protected class such as race, religion, age, etc.

mitousmom