• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Wrongful Termination?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Mom_Whitelake

What is the name of your state? Michigan
I have worked at a large retail company for 14 years, 10 consecutively as of April 1st. This company has a large turn around of store directors and I have had more than 8 in my time there. I was a manager for a fast-paced department in the store. In all of my years, I have had no prior writeups for anything. Recently the standards for my department have increased to virtually impossible levels and they are losing managers for this area left and right throughout the chain. They can't even replace the ones they have lost. I have attempted to do my job the way they want and have multiple copies of proof of my attempts that were not cooperated with. Basically, I became a "witch hunt" where they simply wanted me out of the position. But they could never get anything on me that they could write me up for or terminate me with. Recently, due to mounting pressure, I became enraged and "blacked out" saying profanity about the expectations of my job for the day. I was sent home (it was the end of my shift) and reported to work the next day. At that time, I was allowed to work for 2 hours before attending a meeting about my cursing the day before. I was sent home with instruction to await a phone call or show to work the next day. I went home and immediately made an appointment with a psychiatrist to figure out my mental status. I was diagnosed with an anxiety disorder and immediately given 2 weeks off for recuperation. This leave was approved through the company. On return to my work, my meeting was delayed one more day with the offer