• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Wrongfully accused and possibly terminated

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

m00m00w4t3r

Im a bartender located in CA. Ive been working there for 8 years and have no write up or suspensions. I was told today i MIGHT get terminated because i was accused of stealing $15. I asked for proof and they said they did not catch me on camera doing that but they did see that i gave out 2 drinks for free. The situation with the 2 drinks was not intentional because the server calls out the drink order then while i make it he/she rings it in, it was also a busy/crazy night. The server did not ring in the order but instead pocketed the money the customers gave him. When i went into the office today I was accused of being his accomplice which will result in being fired or suspension. The server was fired today.

What can i do to protect myself if i were to get fired?
Am i able to collect unemployment or file a lawsuit for ruining my title and therefore making it harder to find a future job?
What can i do to protect myself if i were to get suspended or even cut my hours down to make me quit?

Thanks

Last edited:

Proserpina