• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

INTERNATIONAL STUDENT was ROBBED by Host Family

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Status
Not open for further replies.

jacksontran41

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Nebraska.

Dear fellow ladies and gentlemen in the forum,

I am an international student currently studying in Lincoln, Nebraska. Before summer vacation, I left my luggages at the host family house where I was staying during my school year. I just came back for the school year of 2014/2015. I recently asked the host family if they can return my property (the luggages), since I am moving into a new host. They gave my luggages through an agency woman, which is my educational consultant for foreign students, and she brought them to my house. Later when I got my luggages back, I opened them and I thought some items are missing? I constantly checked and checked and further I've realized I have lost so many items that worth up to $7000. I knew that the host stole it, as honestly they were financially poor and are illegal immigrants.

I have told the school about it but they told me to be patient as they would help me, even though I'd like the help from the authorities (police). I find their actions are extremely inappropriate and I am just seriously furious. Therefore, I would really really appreciated to hear from you guys what can I do and what should I do in order to solve this. Sincerely thank you all and I appreciate all the questions and the suggestions.

Sincrely,

An International Student who is trying to calm and not doing any stupid actions.