• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Neighbor's tree falls on my property - certified letter

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

gergev

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Virginia

I'm new to Virginia, and have never filed a property claim.
We had a storm last week that felled trees from two different neighboring properties into mine, damaging my fence and a small portion of my house.

Never having to file a claim before, I found out that it is my responsibility, but insurance would cover damage and removal of trees that did damage to the fence. If a tree fell on my property, but did no damage, they would not cover removal.

My neighbors are not inclined to help with my costs.

There are some remaining trees I am concerned could come down and do more damage in the future.

I was told by my claims adjuster advised me to send a certified letter to them, return receipt, requesting they remove trees in question or take some remedial action so that they would not damage my property.

He indicated to me, if I had done so, then I ultimately would not be liable for damages and even my deductible would not be my responsibility.

Is this true? Thanks in advance. GregWhat is the name of your state (only U.S. law)?

Zigner

Senior Member, Non-Attorney
You have a claim against the entity that created the storm. Good luck serving said claim upon said entity...

gergev

Thanks.