• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Referral fees to licensed agents

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

feelgoodagewell

State - Florida

I'm a home inspector in Florida which is not a state licensed profession yet. I'm wondering would it be legal to give a referral fee to an insurance agent for sending their insured to me for an insurance related inspection? Also, would it be legal to give a referral fee to a real estate agent or mortgage broker or banker for sending a home buyer who wants a pre-purchase home inspection my way?

Dave

moburkes

State - Florida

I'm a home inspector in Florida which is not a state licensed profession yet. I'm wondering would it be legal to give a referral fee to an insurance agent for sending their insured to me for an insurance related inspection? Also, would it be legal to give a referral fee to a real estate agent or mortgage broker or banker for sending a home buyer who wants a pre-purchase home inspection my way?

Dave
Likely yes to the realtor if you're doing it only when they send you customers. Why would the insurance agent send a customer to you for the insurance inspection? Generally, the insurance company, not the agent, determines what 3rd party vendor they use for the inspections.

feelgoodagewell