• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Citizenship Process HELP!!!!

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Sassikhan

What is the name of your state? California

Hi, I'm living in Orange County, California for about 4 & half or five years, I'm a permanent Resident, In December 2007, It will be 5 years for me living in US. During these 5 Years in US, I have only been out of US 2 times. 1st trip was on year 2005 for about 2 months and the 2nd trip was about 5 and half months...My 2nd trip was from March till August of 2007...During my 2nd Trip to my Country Pakistan I got married:rolleyes:. On my First trip to Pakistan I got my Marriage paperwork Done(so the immigration process will begun) ...And I filed I130-Immigration petition For Relative, Fiance Or Orphan, back in 2005. Now I want to file for my Citizenship. I know we can Apply 90 days in advance before I can meet the "continuous resident" requirement...but my question is Can we go Back to our country after filing for Citizenship...after we get our finger prints done....and wait for the call for citizenship outh while we are in our country.....I really want to go sine I miss my Husband soo much....I know to keep the continuous resident status we have to be in US More than 2 and half years...but its kind of hard to know this rule...plz help me understand what to do:(...I'm soo confuse...I want Citizenship...but I want to go back and live with my husband also:confused:... PlZ Help me

ImmigAttyLana

You can leave the US once you file for citizenship but you cannot stay outside the US for too long otherwise you may not be eligible for naturalization at the time of the interview.

Sassikhan

Thx