• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Does "physically present" mean the whole day?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Vancouver, BC.

I'm a lawyer in Canada, and I am thinking of setting up a branch office in Seattle, to serve the Chinese Canadians who have gone to work there, and I would also like to immigrate, so I can be a dual citizen. I've always wanted to be both a citizen of the US and Canada, and this is my chance.

Immigration law as I understand it requires me to be physically present in the US for five years before I can apply. My problem is that, for now, I am still needed back in my offices in the Greater Vancouver region, and I need to continue working there until my Washington state business is built up. So I am thinking of living in the US, and hopping across the border to do my days work, and then returning in the evening and weekends. If I live and sleep in WA during the day, and I spend part of the day in Canada, am I considered "physically present" in the US for that day?

BTW, I also want to take the Washington state bar, so can someone recommend a good text on US constitutional law?

ImmigAttyLana

It's being in the US for 5 years AS A PERMANENT RESIDENT that would qualify you for US citizenship. Just merely living in the US DOES NOT! In order to become a US permanent resident, you need to be sponsored for permanent residence either on the basis of employment or through qualifying family members.

Please let me know if you have any additional questions or how I can beof further assistance to you in this matter.