• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

DV Lottery Adjustment of Status

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

usagc

State:Florida

I’m currently in US under F-1 visa. I graduated and now in my OPT which is valid for 12 months starting from October 1 2007. I also got selected for the 2008 DV lottery program and I informed Kentucky Consular Center that I will apply for Adjustment Of Status (AOS) through USCIS. My understanding about the process is that I can apply for AOS after October 1, 2007 when 2008 DV program starts and then USCIS will call me for the interview when my case number becomes current according to the visa bulletin published in “travel.state.gov”. But I saw in an online discussion (at http://discuss.ilw.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/902603441/m/85310254631/r/24510157631) that I can’t submit my AOS paperwork to USCIS until my case number becomes current. So, I’m confused about how to proceed and appreciate any advice that you can give me. Thanks in advance.

ImmigAttyLana

That is correct. The AOS filing period for the DV2008 starts on October 1, 2007 but even within the filing period of 10/1/07-09/30/08, you have to wait until YOUR number becomes current as according to the visa bulletin before YOU are eligible to file YOUR AOS.

Please let me know if you have any additional questions or how I can be of further assistance to you in this matter.

usagc

GC Lottery: Adjustment of Status

Thank you for your reply, I really appreciate it. I have two more questions if you can help me;