• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Getting Citizenship without Tax Return

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

kimosavi

What is the name of your state? NJ

Hi. I have been a lawful resident in the US for the more than 2 years and next year in February will be my third. I am planning on requesting my Citizenship next year, but when I spoke with a friend he said that I need to show and present my tax returns for the last 3 years.

My first two years here my husband did not report me in his tax return (he was mislead by some friends who said it was better to present separate taxes). I was not working during my stay until July 2007. This year I will present my own taxes.

my questions are:

1. Can I request my Citizenship next year? do I have to wait more?
2. Can I request it with only 1 tax year? do we have to present the separate or together?

TIA!

TinkerBelleLuvr

If you were NOT working at all, you have no need to file a tax return. If you are, and have been, a resident alien, your husband and you have a right to file a joint tax return. You have the right to amend these tax returns.

kimosavi

Thank you Ginny for your prompt reply.

Becoming a US Citizen, to my knowledge, is a very personal decision, and so I didn't understand why was I told that my husband should be involved in the process (other than Identifying the means I became a resident).

is 3 years the minimum requirement to ask for the Citizenship?

So to your knowledge, Will it be ok to ask for my Citizenship next year? with only my tax return (for 1 year)?

evcalyptos

What is the name of your state? NJ