• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Green Card Process for Wife and Son

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

js604

What is the name of your state? Washington

Im looking for general info and approval that I have done all that i can so far. Heres the situation, me and my newly wed wife have been together for 5+ years, we got married this year july 6th to be exact. we have a son who was born dec 16, 2006. I am a lawful permanent resident for just about 5 years at the end of August. This is what I have done. I have filed for my N-400 Naturlization as you are allowed to 90 days prior to your 5 year anniv as a LPR, correct? However i did not know about Selective Service and sent my application before i received my selective service number so i could be the price jacking, i now received my selective service number and waiting for my n-400 receipt so i can send them my number, i was told by a uscis customer rep that they may allow this if i wrote a letter as well which i did. what do you think? ok, now as far as my wife and son, i filed two seperate i-130 for each of them, hoping it gets approved as well as my n-400 i will prob naturalize before a visa becomes available to them, at that point could i upgrade there status so they dont have to wait for a visa, cause spouse and children of citizen dont have to wait for visas? and also, they are canadian, do they need to obtein any visa or anything to come to the usa with me while there applications are being processed? because i read somewhere that canada is a visa excempt or something like that, if not, what visa can i file for them to come and live there with me, not work, just live while we wait. any info would be great. thanks