• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

had a shoplifting record, but it was being dismissed, want to apply green card!

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

applepiema

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? CA

I am sooo sorry to tell my story but i really need help.

i was steeling 5 nail polish worth 50 dollars in walmart and being caught on April 2012 , got a ticket of shoplifting from police. but no finger print. the prosecutors let me do 80 hours community service because this is my first time , the case will be dismissed and within 6 month. My case will be dismissed at the end of the year 2012. and i am planning to married in 2013 Feb, i have F1 VISA and which will expired at July 2013, do i still be able to apply green card by marriage?

i know the case will be dismissed but it relate MT, so i am wondering if i could still apply green card? or shall i plan to go back my country and leave my love from here?

thank you!

Zigner

Senior Member, Non-Attorney
Your case is going to be dismissed? Or, did you plead guilty/no-contest and then have to perform community service as part of your sentence?

swalsh411

If your case was "dismissed" (i.e. DA decided to not press charges) then you would not have to do community service.

Proserpina

Look at the sentencing guidelines, OP. As a very general rule, only crimes of moral turpitude (and carrying a possible custodial sentence of over a year) will be held against you.

OHRoadwarrior

Look at the sentencing guidelines, OP. As a very general rule, only crimes of moral turpitude (and carrying a possible custodial sentence of over a year) will be held against you.