• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

I need help!

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

ma82rit

What is the name of your state? CA
My name is Teresa. I migrated from Mexico to the U.S back in 1989. I am 25 years old now. I graduated from Cal State Long Beach with my B.A in Liberal Studies. However I am not a resident which prevents me from pursuing my career in the field of education with children. I do have a job now, and pay my taxes. My father submitted an application known as l130 more than 10 years ago. On November 96 the case was approved but we have not heard anything else.

I have called quite a few immigration offices and their advice is to get married. Could you please advise me how I can become a resident on my own?

ImmigAttyLana

You cannot do anything on your own if you entered the US unlawfully. YOu will need to wait for the priority date on your father's petition on your behalf to become current in order for you to be able to legalize your status in the US. You should review the latest visa bulletin to see the approximate timelines for the priority date to become current.

Please let me know if you have any additional questions or how I can be of further assistance to you in this matter.

SHORTY LONG

You cannot do anything on your own if you entered the US unlawfully. YOu will need to wait for the priority date on your father's petition on your behalf to become current in order for you to be able to legalize your status in the US. You should review the latest visa bulletin to see the approximate timelines for the priority date to become current.