• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Immigration via sibling

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

What is the name of your state? New York

I'm currently studying in the US on an F1 visa, just finished undergrad and I'm on OPT now. Gonna go to grad school next year. My uncle recently got naturalized a few years ago and is a US Citizen now. He wants to file for my father and I to live in the US. I've got two questions:

1. Can he file for both of us at the same time? Or does he have to file for my father and then my father has to file for me.

2. My father and I are citizens of Trinidad and Tobago. Does anyone know how long the wait will be for a visa number to become available? I know it depends on the country and the sibling relationship.

Any help would be REALLY appreciated.

SHORTY LONG

What is the name of your state? New York

I'm currently studying in the US on an F1 visa, just finished undergrad and I'm on OPT now. Gonna go to grad school next year. My uncle recently got naturalized a few years ago and is a US Citizen now. He wants to file for my father and I to live in the US. I've got two questions:

1. Can he file for both of us at the same time? Or does he have to file for my father and then my father has to file for me.

2. My father and I are citizens of Trinidad and Tobago. Does anyone know how long the wait will be for a visa number to become available? I know it depends on the country and the sibling relationship.

Any help would be REALLY appreciated.
Have you searched the Homeland Security US Government site for your answers?
Or even tried in calling them? http://www.uscis.gov/portal/site/uscis

ImmigAttyLana