• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

K-1 Fiancee Visa Co-Sponsor

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

saxman25

I am interested in applying for a K-1 visa for my fiancee in Japan (I'm living in NY). Because I am a full-time masters student, I make enough money to support two people but I do not have enough assets to show for it (i.e. large adjusted gross income numbers). Therefore, I am interested in having a co-sponsor. My cousin in California has agreed to do this, being that he makes enough for his own family plus the amount for two people at 125% of poverty level (this is the required amount I have to prove that I possess). What are all the responsibilities of a co-sponsor? Also, is it okay that my co-sponsor lives in another state? Lastly, I may start my PhD soon and my top choice is a school in California. If I move to California for school, am I allowed to even apply for the K-1 visa being that I will not have lived there for long? Must I stay in NY in order to apply for this particular visa? I appreciate any advice on this, because government-sponsored websites do not give much information.

evcalyptos