• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

So how do I do it?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

What is the name of your state? Canada

OK, bottom line: I'm a Canadian lawyer with a growing practise, and I would like to expand my law firm to the US and become a dual citizen. My time line is sometime in 2009, but I'm flexible. So how do I do it?

ImmigAttyLana

Did we not go through about 2 pages of posts back and forth on this topic with the same exact question and did you not get the answers that you kept getting confirmed and reconfirmed by myself and other posters?

Please read the complete post and all the answers to your question that you posted previously. The answers are not going to change now just because you start a new thread. It's still the same process as it was two weeks ago.

I'm sorry - I just came out of a five-day trial, and, like all divorces, this was emotionally tiring, so I'm not making myself clear.

I was referring to the specifics. My plan is to hook up with a law firm and build their Chinese base, which I should in theory be capable (in theory) of doing. My problem is that, while I know some people in Seattle, the big markets are in California and New York, which are quite far from Vancouver.

I was thinking of this way: I get a H1-B to work in the US, and, in conjunction with a law firm, start building up the business in, say, LA, where I have contacts in the Chinese community. If that succeeds, the law firm can sponsor me permanently. To get a H1-B, do I have to be an American lawyer, or can I be a consultant and build the business? I understand that, if I have American lawyers with me, I can start a law firm