• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

When can I apply for naturalization/citizenship in the US?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Rezwan

Hello
I am a US permanent resident since 2008. I have been residing here continuously since July 2014. Before that I have taken trips to my home country for more than 6 months but less than a year. The total amount of physical presence I have in the 5 years is about 24 months. However during the time I have been outside, I retained my permanent address, my father was still in the US for the entire time and I had access to my home at any time I would return.

Mass_Shyster

Hello
I am a US permanent resident since 2008. I have been residing here continuously since July 2014. Before that I have taken trips to my home country for more than 6 months but less than a year. The total amount of physical presence I have in the 5 years is about 24 months. However during the time I have been outside, I retained my permanent address, my father was still in the US for the entire time and I had access to my home at any time I would return.

You need 30 months of physical presence. You only have 24. See https://www.uscis.gov/us-citizenship/citizenship-through-naturalization/path-us-citizenship

Rezwan

What about my continuous residence? Will it be okay to apply in the summer? Or do I still need to wait 5 years from July 2014?

Mass_Shyster

USCIS may feel you abandoned your residency when you left for more than six months. If they think you did, and you apply for naturalization, you may find yourself in removal proceedings.

You should probably talk to an immigration lawyer.

OHRoadwarrior