• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Different Treament of Employees

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

sloaner14

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Ok

I am a teacher at a vocational school and am experiencing unequal treatment of employees. There are 30+ teachers here and we are a held accountable by Policy & Procedure manual. The issue is teachers leaving students unattended in the classroom, even if it is to take a quick bathroom break. The problem is that not all teachers are held to this policy, as some teachers have left students unattended for 30 minutes at a time. It also never seems to be a problem unless it is myself or a couple of other teachers.

We have had a change in administration this year and this enforcement is coming from above my supervisor. It doesn't seem fair that if administration is wanting to hold us accountable, but doesn't enforce this with other teachers. Yes, there are a couple of things that lead me to believe that I am being singled out. If I find out that policy is only being enforced for a select few and not everyone, do I have a case to file a grievance?

Zigner

Senior Member, Non-Attorney
What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Ok