• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Is it discrimination?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

choopes

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Al.
I work in the public sector. State govt.
If 3 people working together have the same job title, it the same facility, often sharing tasks and doing each others jobs in emergencies, or when called upon, is it discrimination to require one employee to have a different set of skills, that the other 2 do not possess? This is new technology. It took several years to discover any weakness in this area. Now, a poor performance review results from this. I feel I am being singled out for a higher standard then the other 2 coworker, who have both been at this job longer then me. The untimate goal is to prove lack of job skills to terminate, or to force me to quit. Is this defendable? What are my possable recourses?

Antigone*

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Al.
I work in the public sector. State govt.
If 3 people working together have the same job title, it the same facility, often sharing tasks and doing each others jobs in emergencies, or when called upon, is it discrimination to require one employee to have a different set of skills, that the other 2 do not possess? This is new technology. It took several years to discover any weakness in this area. Now, a poor performance review results from this. I feel I am being singled out for a higher standard then the other 2 coworker, who have both been at this job longer then me. The untimate goal is to prove lack of job skills to terminate, or to force me to quit. Is this defendable? What are my possable recourses?
This is not illegal discrimination.

tranquility