• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Is This Discrimination?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Ffej

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? New York

I work as an architect for a large public agency in NYC. I have been there 22 years. Recently, my division has gone a significant hiring binge. Many of the hirings have been in the same title that I am serving in, except that they are providing a higher level and salary within my title for these new positions.

Over the last 9 months or so, I have applied for 12 of these positions. Of those 12, I was interviewed for six. Of those, I received rejection letters for all of them. One of the positions I interviewed for was to conduct needs assessment analysis for the thousands of buildings we own. I am quite knowledgeable on needs assessments, as I have, since ten years ago, have overseen consulting engineers and architects to produce needs reports that we use to develop our capital plan.

I was called for an interview in this new needs assessment section, and I really thought I was a perfect match for the job. Unfortunately, I was turned down. The vacancy announcement stated that there are 6 positions available for this new needs assessment section that was recently created. So far, they have hired one person, who was an employee of a consultant we have a large construction contract with.