• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Dissabled Veteran-Discrmination or Harrasment?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

J

JWor

What is the name of your state? Mississippi

history: i am a disabled veteran, rated at 30% i've had a total reconstruction of one knee and suffer from degenerative joint disease of the knee. i wear a prescribed brace, to help reduce pain increase stability.

i work for a major beer distributor in my local area. i do alot of lifting, long periods of standing and walking. which is bothersome but tollerable. i have a noticeable "limp".

for about the past year, the company's senior operations manager, for this distributor has been making comments about my limp/brace etc. in a joking manner, drawing attention to my problem by imitating an exagerated "limp" or the way i walk. he does this in front of my co-workers and peers. he has done this in major chain stores that we service in front of the recieving managers, thier coworkers customers and other vendors. he has also be-littled, and humilliated me in front of my wife at our last christmas party because of my condition.

he did ask me one time "seriously" why do you wear a brace? and i explained to him why. that i have a service conected disability. he seemed to lay off for a while, but has recently started back to the same above actions, trying to make "fun" of my condition in front of others. sad behavior for a man in his position. he of all people should know better.

his actions truly do bother me and make me feel inferior. i work just as hard as anyone there, if not harder. and alot of times in pain. but i do what i have to do.