• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Early Pension Distribution

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

B

baily29

What is the name of your state? PA.

I would like to get an opinion on what may be a civil rights law and equal representation issue as to how pension funds are being distributed among employees represented by a union.

I have been working for an international corporation for 21 years. I have been a member of the union and have been employed in Pennsylvania for the entire 21 years with the company. My company provides a Defined Benefits Pension Plan (funded completely by the company).

Under the current collective bargaining agreement an employee can receive full pension and health benefits at the age of 55 (with any service time) or with 30 years service (any age). If an employee retires before any of those requirements are met there is a 6 % penalty per year below age 55 (unless he/she has 30 yrs service).

Recently our company announced that all operations will be closed in Pennsylvania and relocated elsewhere, consequently all management (non-union) and represented employees will be laid off.