• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Employer wont transfer me

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Bbd314

What is the name of your state? Pennsylvania.I am a corrections officer. I had a large tumor removed from my lumbar spine followed by a second reconstructive surgery. It has impacted my life and I have had to change My lifestyle and such. I currently drive 50 mile one way to work. My Doctor reccomends I be transfered to an institution closer to my home.There is a institution 6 mile from my home. The Pa Dept of corrections refuses to grant my transfer even though the closer institution is actively hiring and has positions available . I have sent all documentation including a letter from the Doctor. My Question is Am I considered disabled or to have a disability? If so do I fall under ada .

mitousmom

Whether your condition makes you a qualified individual with a disabilty (QUID) covered by the ADA depends upon the specifics of your condition and the impact it has on your major life activities. See EEOC's website at www.eeoc.gov for a discussion of disabilities under the ADA. Maybe your doctor can give you information on any limitations resulting from your medical condition and can help your assess whether you are a QUID.

If you believe that you are a QUID, you can inform your employer and ask for a reasonable accommodation. Your employer will have to determine if you are a QUID and, if so, whether it can accommodate you. Your employer is not required to provide you with the accommodation your request - a transfer - , if another suitable accommodation is available.

Last edited:

Bbd314

I would like to know the definition of Mojor Life Activities.