• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Fired when child support made contact

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

movado1914

New Jersey is the State I live in. I had been working for this guy for almost two years. I repeatedly requested to be placed on the books for work since he has 3 others on the books. My reasoning for being on the books was I do have child support that needs to get paid and its easy when they just take it from my check, other reasons were I wanted to be able to collect unemployment should something happen, and if I needed to buy a car I could do so if I have a job with pay stubs. This guy had really kept me under the gun and for my profession in this recession work is not easy to find and he paid me enough to pay all my bills so leaving was not an option. None the less he received a letter from child support requesting he withhold money from my check. My ex wife probably called them and told them where I worked. He called me up flipping out and I told him just put me on the books or 1099 me. He said child support was not his problem and told me not to come back to work. This incident has cost me severely I was evicted and my whole life has been spun upside down in a very bad way. I am disgusted with his behaviors and just really inhumane way of acting towards others. I have proof of me working for this guy because he has a contract with Exxon in which I had to get ID and log in every time I had worked there. Do I have a case to sue this guy. He really has cost me big time.

swalsh411

Have you paid taxes on the income you earned working for this person?