• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Harassment in the Workplace

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

SunGlow

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? California

I've been working for my current employer for about seven months now. It's a food service privately owned franchise (so I guess it's not really a franchise). After about a month of working here I started to notice inappropriate behavior from the manager here. I don't mean to be racist or prejudice in any way, I'm just going to be specific about what exactly I have noticed... The manager is a Hispanic male and only hires other males. The only woman that works with this business is the owner. Neither the manager nor the owner are professional in the very least. The manager does all of the hiring and only hires Hispanic people to work in the kitchen. For the customer-service side, it seems he only hires Caucasian males between the ages of 18-25. He rarely interacts with the kitchen employees and demonstrates inappropriate behavior with the customer service-oriented employees. After about a month of working there he started touching me in ways that made me uncomfortable. He would come up behind me and start rubbing my shoulders, every time he walked by me he would poke me, bump in to me, grab my bicep and feel it. When I told him to stop, he would get upset and not talk to me for the rest of the shift.

I talked to my coworkers about what keeps happening and they said it happens a lot, he does very similar things to all of the other Caucasian customer-service employees that I work with as well.