• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Harrassment/discrimination

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

L

LeslieDawdy

What is the name of your state? Illinois

I am a Family Nurse Practitioner that took a job one year ago. At the final interview an agreement was made that because I was a new graduate I would be allowed the first six months of my employment to see about 2 patients per hour in order to remain safe and learn my job. About one month after my hire date, the CEO approached me and stated, "we have to talk about your numbers" I was seeing about 1.5 patients per hour with language barriers, and 1 support staff person who was pulled between me and the front desk. I felt that I had been doing the best that I could. This statement angered me... so I walked away and stated that I would talk to him later. He followed me and told me, "I am your employer... you do not walk away from me... if you were a secretary I would fire you." Of course, no one was there to witness him saying this. I then became pregnant in March. I have high risk pregnancies and was genuinely concerned about what effect this might have on my job. I told him immediately. He told me don't worry about it, it will just be a medical leave of absence. The subject was not broached again until 24 weeks into my pregnancy. He knew that this was the highest risk time of my pregnancy. He then told me that if I went over my allowed sick and vacation time over the next eight weeks that he would have to start looking for another provider. I had no choice - work or lose my job (he told me he could do this because his organization has less than 10 employees). So, I worked my butt off with my baby hanging on - against