• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Hidden Camera at work question

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

richiez

I work in a school building in Hampton, VA. I've been with the school system approximately 19 years. (I'm a Guidance Counselor Director) I have my own office with 5 other employees that work under my supervision.

As crazy as this sounds, we have an Assistant Principal that works in the building that has been seen after school hours going in and out of locked classrooms and offices. (He has a master key to the building)

I'm 100% convinced that he's deleting files on computers, going through desk drawers, etc...(Everyone that he attempts to bully, mysteriously has files erased on their computers, things stolen from their office or classroom and so on)

He is NOT my Supervisor in any way. Would it be legal for me to leave a hidden camera in my office at night in a attempt to catch him in the act? I will NOT use the audio function, only the video.

Any advice would be appreciated...just please give me some type of case law reference so that I can have something in writing before I pursue this.

Beth3

It doesn't appear that you lawfully can do this as you would not be a party to the recording:

An individual can record or disclose wire, oral, or electronic communications to which he is a party, or if one party to the communication consents. Otherwise, it is a felony. Va. Code Ann. § 19.2-62.

A lawyer’s recording of a telephone conversation with the consent of one, but not all, parties to the conversation was found to be legal, though unethical, under Virginia law. U.S. v. Smallwood, 365 F.Supp.2d 689 (2005).