• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Hostile, threatening environment...but I'm a 'contractor', not employee.

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chugga

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? In North Dakota

I will try to keep this as brief and concise as possible. I am a contractor for the Ground division of a well known, world-wide shipping company. The entire bulk of the delivery drivers for this division of this company are 'contractors', whereas the people who work in other divisions, such as the Express and Freight divisions are regular employees. The Ground division has been embattled recently with many contractors forming class-action suits against the company to gain employee status, and have won in a few states.

I am what is called an MVC...multiple van contractor. I own multiple contracted delivery routes, the trucks that service them, and I employ the drivers as my own employees. My trucks are lettered with the corporate logos of the company I contract for and I must operate to the letter of their corporate rules. None of this has been a problem for me, my service is top notch and my business is run professionally.

The problem in our terminal lies with our Senior Terminal Manager, referred to as TM from here on in.