• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

How long does an investigation take?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Status
Not open for further replies.

fighting_back

What is the name of your state?What is the name of your state? VA

I filed a compliant on Dec 30, 2005, against my boss at the time. I had my interview with the investigator on Jan. 3rd. She told me that she is usually pretty quick with her cases and it takes her no more than 1 week. Well, 1 week has come and gone. I haven't heard from her since. FYI, I'm a contractor so my company's HR and his company's HR are both involved. The investigator is from his company; however, she does not work in his part of the organization. My company rep tells me it's a good sign that the investigation is taking long. I gave the investigator text messages that he sent me, AIM conversations that took place at work (ie, him flirting aggresively), pictures of semi-nude women posted on the cubicle walls of some male coworkers, me documenting 5 months worth of harassment, and a list of witnesses. So what is taking so long? How long does a sexual harassment investigation take? Since reporting his harassment, I have been transfered to a new boss, but I am still worried about retaliation from others (men). They have avoided me so I know the investigator probably talked with them already. I work in IT, so 90% of the people in the building are men.

What exactly is retaliation? Do they have a right to ignore me?

seniorjudge

fighting_back said:
What is the name of your state?What is the name of your state? VA