• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

inappropriate

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

ndyia

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? I am a hiring manager. I asked another manager to sit on my second interview panel. We interviewed four people and he completely discriminated against all of them. He only holds a home school certificate in lieu of a high school diploma. No further education. He asked me how did I get all these applicants with this much education!! The first candidate was a male and he referred to the candidate as a "fairy" referring to his sexual orientation. He said his staff would send the guy home crying everyday. The second candidate was a hispanic female from New Jersey and he told me I would have to translate because he doesn't speak New Jersey!! When she finishe he said we cannot hire this "B****" because she would get on his nerves. The third candidate he said he really liked her but said she reminded him of "Mrs.Cosby" and that he can see her knitting sweaters in her office!! The final candidate, as she was walking up he said we cannot hire because she is not attractive at all!! What should I do?

Never ask him again to sit in on job interviews....

That manager is a lawsuit away from being unemployed. You might talk to your HR department so they can document his record and eventually terminate him. I hope you're not making hiring determinations based on this idiot's prejudice. That could get you sued.

Good luck.

ndyia

Thanks, just as I thought! Might I add he went around theoffice telling others I had him interviewing a "fairy" whose ambition is to become a singer. That was a goal that was disclosed by the interviewee!!

justalayman