• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Job forcing participation in an activity wher I have a documented medical disability

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

rx4life

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Mississippi

Hi all, I am a pharmacist and I work for a national grocery store chain. I have worked as a pharmacist for 15 years and 10 years for this company. About 3 years ago a new immunization plan was started. This plan involves the pharmacist giving immunization shots via needle injection. Each pharmacist was sent to a class to learn how to give shots. I am deathly afraid of needles and have been for a long time. During the class I began to hyperventilate while trying to perform an injection. The instructor said that I should not be giving shots because of my reaction. Per the company's direction I went to my doctor and had the doctor complete a company form stating that I have a medical disability and cannot perform the activity of giving shots. Later the company started using a needleless injection form of immunization which I was able to participate in. Shortly thereafter that program was halted because of some issue with that form of needleless injection and the FDA. No other alternative has been introduced since that time. I have each year completed the required medical disability form as per company request. I was just informed that the company is now requiring all pharmacist to give immunization shots and if you can't then you will not be able to continue your employment with the company.