• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Is this legal?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Status
Not open for further replies.

jmcs23

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? California

Hello,

I work in retail and I have a condition called Hip Dysplasia. It basically means one of my hips didn't form correctly and now I'm in occasional pain. Up until recently the pain was manageable but I find that it's getting worse. My job requires me to work at a cash register and stand for 5-8 hours at a time, however I'm a part-time employee, not full-time.

Since my hip has been hurting more and more lately I asked my Manager if I would be able to work shorter shifts but work more days per week. That way I would still be working the same number of hours per week but more days. My Manager's response was that he would have to demote me because I can't fulfill my jobs requirements anymore (i.e. heavy lifting and open availability for scheduling if I can only work short shifts).

Is an employer in California legally allowed to demote you because a disability is no longer allowing you to fulfill your job requirements like before?

OHRoadwarrior

The ADA does not require a company to significantly change the circumstances of a job, to accommodate a disability. How many employees, besides the manager, assistant manager and any supervisors or key holders are there? How many are scheduled on a shift? What are their functions?

sandyclaus

Hello,