• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Motorcycles banned from place of work??

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Status
Not open for further replies.

busch07

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Illinois

Hi everyone.

I have a question/concern regarding the legality of a new "rule" my employer has implemented.

I work in IT as an outsourced technology director and sometimes-field technician for a company. For the last two summers, I have ridden a motorcycle to work as often as I can, simply because I love saving money on the gas (which is paid at the IRS per mile rate when visiting clients) and because it's enjoyable. I have had no issues with carrying my tools of the trade/parts/etc in this time frame. While there are 2 other employees who have motorcycles, I am known as the "motorcycle guy" at work and am the only one who uses it at clients. My bikes are nice and look great, are not ratty/smelly/etc. (Comes into play soon.)