• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Overlooked for Promotion two times

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Tcreeves

I lost everything I just typed so now I start over. Looking story short for beginners. Within the last five years I have seen or office change drastically. I am in the military but I work as a civilian technician for the Army National Guard during the week. I have been a federal employee for almost 28 years. I have been overlooked for promotion to GS12 twice in the past year. The two that got it are without a doubt less qualified then me but got the promotion anyway. They are strictly civilians whereas I am a civilian but I am also a guard member that drills once a month. I feel like the same organization that I am dually a member of is now holding this against me. I can prove work performed by each of us and how I have out performed most in my office, but that hasn't stopped this from happening. Help!!!

Tcreeves

Alabama, but work for the federal government though

I am an auditor that audits the Alabama National Guard

Tcreeves

Alabama, but work for the federal government though

Alabama is the state I work in. I am an auditor and I audit the Alabama National Guard

Shadowbunny

Queen of the Not-Rights
You've lost me. How can you be a civilian federal employee and active duty at the same time?
There are "hybrid" jobs in the NG that are federal civilian jobs, but require you to also be a drilling member of the National Guard.

Tcreeves, why do you think they're overlooking you?

Tcreeves

Well...