• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Picture This!!

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

M

MadCow4now

What is the name of your state? New Jersey

I am a manager in a branch office of a large corporation. A young lady who works as an assistant recently made a charge of harassasment against me. I am a photographer in a previous career and have maintained that as a vocation for about 25 years. I am known to sometimes have camera in my possession for a variety of occassions. I have taken pictures in the office, at company events such as luncheons, seminars, meetings, etc. During one day this young lady stated she had spilled coffee in her office cube and during her lunch time she went home and brought back a steam cleaning machine. Now although I thought this was unusual I let it go as 'quirky' and not problematic. I was taking some pictures of some coworkers later that day and spontaneously took a picture of her cleaning. She was down on the floor cleaning the walls of her office cube. The day passed without incident and I probably deleted this digital picture because I no longer have it. Two months later this young lady was written up for insubordination, charged by myself, for failure to perform a job task & inappropriate language to a manager. Others who witnessed this occurance were asked to write their observations down and each one of them agreed that she was out of line. When she was called in for the formal counseling session with her manager, myself and my manager she threatened us with' ..if you don't tear that up I will file a grievence against all of you..." and " ...you don't want to go toe to toe with me...". Now she is filing a complaint with our HR departmen