• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

questions and suggestions about medication

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

blue-

i am a mid-level manager of a local government IT dept. I have a sleep disorder (sleep apnea) and am taking medication for it. one of the medications is a sleeping pill (Lunesta).
One of my staff called my phone in the middle of the night after I had gone to bed. I missed the call. the next day I was verbally reprimanded for not picking up the phone. I later sent a message to my manager asking if I could offer up my home number as an alternative (my wife would most likely hear this and pick it up, wake me up). I also mentioned that I have been taking some medication that might have contributed to my not answering the phone. my manager quickly came in my office and asked if I was taking sleeping pills. shocked, I said yes, it's a prescription from my Dr. she then suggested that I consider getting off the medication and that it was her expectation that I answer my cell phone.
Stopping the medication is not an option for me at this point and I don't want to end up getting fired because of this. can she ask me about medical conditions like this? do I need to talk to HR or attorney?

OHRoadwarrior

Consider Zolpidem. It is a 4 hour, not a 7 hour. Put your phone by the bed, so wife will wake up. Ask your doctor to allow you to manipulate dosage to maximize your sleep when you are not on call. I take 1/2 a tab on nights I must get up in 5 hours and more on nights I can sleep through.

You Are Guilty