• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Retaliation/ FMLA or other?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

jh1982

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Florida

I'm a contractor for a certain IT staffing company here in the Tampa, FL area and for this recent project they brought me in on was 1/06/14 but I've worked for them on other projects for about 2 years. I ended up calling work on 12/1/14 to let them know I'd be running late as I was having chest pains while driving to work which takes 1hour 20min to get there. The next day the pains were worse so I called in sick and went to see my PCP right away without an appointment and he saw me immediately. I'm now being treated for major depression, mental ailments (ADD and manic) and alcohol addiction. I went to inpatient therapy on 12/3/14 and I've provided all doctor notes that my employer has requested. I'm still waiting for short-term disability to be approved and at the time my employer stated I wasn't eligible for FMLA because I have to work for them for 12 straight months without more than a 1 week gap in between projects. Even after 1/06/15 they had stated I'm not eligible for FMLA even though it has been over 12 straight months of work (40hrs a week, more than 1,300hrs within the past 12 months and they have more than 75 employees within a certain mile radius). The company I had contracted with had then dropped my contract with the staffing company I'm working for on 1/16/15. I was told I wouldn't be eligible for FMLA until 1/20/15 and they have been asking me for insurance payments and they even removed my wife from our insurance when they switched my plans for 2015 without consulting with me so now my wife ca