• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Retaliation in the workplace

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Status
Not open for further replies.

jjsage465

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Oregon

I feel that I am being retaliated at work. I have been working at my job for going on two years, and I enjoy most parts of it. The problem I was having is that my boss had promised me my .50 raise back in May. Every pay period, I checked for it, and it was not there. Id go to him and ask what was going on with it and he would give me some excuse like, corporate lost the paperwork or he just didnt have the time to get to it but he promised it would be on my next check, which never happened of course. So after several months of this, I decided talking to him wasnt going to help my situation, so I called corporate. The Sir that I talked to asked me about all of the convorsations and the date that it was first brought up and verified some of the information in his computer.. he then told me that he would call me back as he had to call and talk to my manager to see what was going on. When he called my manager he asked if he had indeed promised me a raise, which my manager answered that he couldve but he just doesnt remember even though two days before this we had talked about it and he said that it would "definately" be on my check this coming friday. Well because he said that he "could have" the Steve at corporate decided that he would back pay me the .50 an hour from May through present day. Which was great, I was very satisfied with that and thanked him for doing a great job and helping me figure this out. I thought everything was done and would be good now.. until I got