• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Sexual Harassment and Discrimination at two different companies by the same General M

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

A

angelmedicla

What is the name of your state? I am in California.

Hello My name is Angel,
I work in the medical field. a single parent.
To be brief,
I started at a company in the medical industry,(of about 20 employee's) , which is predominantly male.
I worked there for two months and then the sexual comments began by one general manager. Then comments lead to touching.
I complained to the owner. No disciplinary actions were taken to this General Manager. I was forced to deal with it, cause I needed the money.
I stuck it out for four more months. By this time he had his cousin working within the company, who had become my supervisor.
I had found a brand new job for a company just starting out.
I was offered more money per hour and I would help start this company from the ground up.Sounds great huh?
I was asked by the Regional Supervisor to have an official interview, but I was already hired. This was just a formality at the the other location. Where I was introduced to my new (General Manager). It was the general manager that had sexually harassed at the company I had just left.
I was pulled off to the side by the Regional Manager and then told"Angel, I know the past that you and the General Manager have had! But please realize you are in a male dominated field.
( Like this behavior is condoned?)
"The general manager and I have been friends for many years."